shotsenergylife.blogg.se

1t ssd for mac 2012
1t ssd for mac 2012











1t ssd for mac 2012

When I wake up my mac, found that it has rebooted. I have notice this rebooting for a few days before that. Thanks to all who have replied and apologies for the late reply.Ī few hours after my post (early next morning), woke up yesterday to find that my imac had been rebooting every few minutes. Macs retain a high resale value because they are very usable for along time, unless you inadvertently cripple the machine by - for example - ordering it initially with too little memory where the memory is not upgradable. Your cost is not your initial outlay, your cost is initial outlay minus value of resale (if you ever do sell it). Then I consider the higher resale value of the better machine. If I recall correctly, management of SSD vs non-SSD is automatic, driven by the algorithm in the operating system.įWIW, I personally use a computer for an average of 3 years, and so whatever I spend on it, I think of it as amortizing the cost over three years. When it has to use the non-SSD portion, it's a lot slower, which may or may not be apparent depending on what you are doing. When the fusion drive is successfully using the 128G SSD portion, well, it's as fast as an SSD. I now believe that there actually IS no clear answer without actually trying out an internal SSD as comparison. I was frustrated trying to figure out - how much faster or slower it is than an SSD. I researched "fusion drive" early this year. Might think about repeating your tests and using one of the speed test programs to get some measurable idea of the differences.

#1t ssd for mac 2012 upgrade

If you are going to upgrade something without Thunderbolt, I think I would elect to upgrade the internal to SSD and keep all the data on an external USB3, which in this installation would still be pretty fast. I suspect that doing the same thing with USB3 would provide some, but not as much, improvement, as this is probably one of the installations that actually makes good use of the Thunderbolt.

1t ssd for mac 2012

My late 2013 27" woke up significantly when I went from the OEM internal non-fusion HDD to an external Thunderbolt SSD boot drive. I am not 100% sure If I should wait a bit more before my upgrade.Īny info/advise that can help me decide will be welcome. How much of an improvement can I expect from option B (which cost at least 100USD more expensive for each 500GB ssd and have the risk/trouble of opening up the imac for the installation). Either the fusion drive is giving very good performance of my loaned ssd is the 3G version (older) and not the faster 6G drive. Does not seems to see too much of performance improvement. Tested with a loaned 500GB ssd USB3, cloned the system disk and boot from the sdd. Option B: replace 128GB sdd with 500GB or 1TB ssd pcie from OWC Option A: boot from external 1TB or 500GB usb3 ssd. Now running a 1TB fusion drive with 128GB ssd (stock from apple).













1t ssd for mac 2012